About the Event


The Nike Hoop Summit has a tradition of featuring the world’s upcoming basketball talent. This annual basketball game is played under international rules and features the USA Basketball Men’s Junior National Select Team, comprised of the top high school boy senior players, playing against a World Select Team, comprised of top players 19-years-old or younger from around the world.

The 2016 Hoop Summit will be played Saturday April 9th, at 12:00pm in Portland, Oregon at the Moda Center.

Follow the Nike Hoop Summit on Twitter leading up to the event for more information.

The inaugural Nike Hoop Summit was played in Springfield, Massachusetts in 1995. Since then, the event has been played in Lake Buena Vista, Florida; Tampa, Florida; Indianapolis, Indiana; San Antonio, Texas; and Memphis, Tennessee. This is the 9th consectutive year the game has been played in Portland, Oregon.

The Hoop Summit has featured some of the NBA’s current stars including: Nicolas Batum • Kevin Durant • Anthony Davis • Monta Ellis • Kevin Garnett • Rudy Gay • Kyrie Irving • Al Jefferson • Joe Johnson • Kevin Love • Dirk Nowitzki • Tony Parker • Derrick Rose • Josh Smith • John Wall

An incredible 178 former USA and World Select Team members have been drafted by NBA teams, including 13 alumni in the 2015 NBA Draft and 14 players in the 2014 NBA Draft.

In fact, the past three No. 1 picks have been former World Select Team members, including Karl Towns Jr. (Dominican Republic) in 2015, Andrew Wiggins (Canada) in 2014 and Anthony Bennett (Canada) in 2013. Before that, three U.S. Nike Hoop Summit alumni were drafted No. 1, including Anthony Davis in 2012, Kyrie Irving in 2011 and John Wall in 2010. Overall, nine of the game’s alumni have been chosen at No. 1, and 60 players have been selected among the first 10 picks. The first three picks in 2014 were Nike Hoop Summit alumni (Andrew Wiggins, Jabari Parker and Joel Embid), as well as in 2012 (Anthony Davis, Michael Kidd-Gilchrist and Bradley Beal) and in 2008 (Derrick Rose, Michael Beasley and O.J. Mayo).

Additionally, five players from the Hoop Summit have gone on to earn NBA Rookie of the Year honors, including Kyrie Irving (2012), Tyreke Evans (2010), Derrick Rose (2009), Kevin Durant (2008) and Elton Brand, who shared the honor in 2000.

As of Oct. 21, 2015, a remarkable 78 former U.S. players and 33 former World team members were active in the NBA.

Additionally, 31 former Hoop Summit players are currently competing on the collegiate level, including 20 U.S. players and 11 World Team athletes.